Our Sponsors...

Our Sponsors...

Monday, 27 April 2015

And finally for 2014/15...


Many thanks as always to all who attended the Finals Night last Tuesday. There was an excellent turn-out and photos are posted below, all things being equal.

The result of the Cup Final saw the Waters Green Rams retain the Cup for the second year in a row after beating the Weaver by 116 – 109 in a very close and entertaining game. Congratulations to all concerned.

Thanks must go to Rick Davis and Ashton Davies for asking the questions and scoring respectively, along with the Ox-fford who prepared the questions from all those submitted by all teams. An excellent effort by all concerned.   

The final trophy of this year will be settled at the start of next season as usual.

The Plate Final will be:-

Waters Green Lemmings v Park Taverners

This game will be played at the AGM before the start of next season, date and place to be confirmed. The Nags Head and the Cock-A-2 will assemble questions for this game from those not used for the Cup Final.

An excellent season saw the Church House Bollington win the C League with the Lamb Shanks also promoted in finishing second. The Church House have gone from the A to C League in successive years, so they are on the way back!

The C League Individual title was shared for the first time by Church House team-mates Rick Davis and Ashton Davies. This is the first title of any kind for Ashton whilst Rick won this title in 2005/06 and has won 3 B League Individual titles since then.

In the B League the Robin Hood emerged triumphant at the top of the tree, winning their first ever League title. The Waters Green Lemmings finished second, thus both teams will play in the A League next time around.

The Robin Hood also won the inaugural Nine-Banded Armadillo Trophy for the worst question of the season. “Cucumber Time” indeed…

Jim Kennelly bagged the B League Individual title which he adds to his C League Individual title in 2011/12

The Ox-fford were crowned A League Champions for the first time in six years since they last won in 2008/09. The A League was incredibly competitive this year with “everyone beating everyone else” to use a well-worn phrase.

The Ox-fford also won the Cars and Vans 4U Ltd Question Setters Trophy for their Specialist questions from way back in Week 1, giving them their fourth win in a row of this trophy. Thanks as ever to Allan Sherratt for his support.

Thanks also to Olympus Trophies and Sam Baker for all his efforts in providing the trophies – very much appreciated as always.

If I don’t see you before, have a great summer and see you in the autumn when we start again…



Finals Night Photos - 21/04/2015

Prizes for presentation...

Assorted Dolphins...

...and a few more

Some Shanks...

...and some Park Timers

Tying the Knot...

Covering more miles to get here than anyone else - Mr Andy Johnson

Merry Men (and Woman) from the Robin Hood...

Half (ish) of the Ox-fford 'C'...

Horntails and Taverners...

Your Cup Final Officials - Rick Davis and Ashton Davies...

Cup Finalists - Weaver

Cup Finalists - Waters Green Rams

Cup Runners-up - The Weaver

Cup Winners 2015 - The Waters Green Rams!

Cars and Vans 4U Ltd Question Setters Trophy Winners - Ox-fford!

Nine-Banded Armadillo inaugural winners - the Robin Hood!

Joint winners of the C League Individual title - Rick Davis and a plate...

...or more accurately, Church House Bollington team-mates Rick Davis and Ashton Davies!

C League Champions - Church House Bollington!

B League Individual Champion - the Robin Hood's Jim Kennelly!

B League Champions - Robin Hood!

A League Champions - Ox-fford!

Final Cars and Vans 4U Ltd Questions Setters Trophy 2014/15

Final 2014/15 Standings - A, B & C...

Results - Final Week 18 (17/03/2015)

News & Views - Week 17 (10/03/2015)

News & Views - Week 16 (03/03/2015)

News & Views - Week 15 (24/02/2015)