Our Sponsors...

Our Sponsors...

Wednesday, 20 April 2011

And finally...

Many thanks to all who attended the Finals Night on Tuesday.

There was an excellent turn-out, the Cup Final was a finely contested affair and the butties (including quiche!) were very welcome too. I have only a small number of trophies left in my possession; I will contact the winners separately.

The Cup Final was one of the best contests those of us who have seen a few of these can remember. Credit to Nick Peck of the Waters Green Phoenix and Graham Bailey and (especially) Alan Levitt of the Weaver who fettled the excellent questions - which can all be seen via the usual link to Nick's Quiz Site on the top right hand corner of this blog.

The result of a very close saw last year’s runners-up the Ox-fford ‘C’ beat the Dolphin Dragons by just 5 points, 103 – 98.

Congratulations to all concerned.

Thanks also to our very own Cameron and Clegg, otherwise known as Rick Davis and Allan Sherratt, for asking the questions and scoring respectively – much appreciated, your fine efforts added to the night’s entertainment as always.

Thanks also to the Weaver - a great venue and the hospitality - and sandwiches - were very well appreciated.

See below for all the final information and photographs you can shake a stick at, if you are a stick shaking type of course…

The final trophy of this year will be settled at the start of next season as usual. The Plate Final will be:

Plough Taverners v Harrington Academicals

This game will be played at the AGM before the start of next season, date and place to be confirmed, although the place will undoubtedly be the Weaver!

If I don’t see you before we start again, have a great summer and see you in the autumn when we will do it all again.



Cup Final Winners - the Ox-fford 'C'!

Your Cup Final Scrutineers - Rick Davis and Allan Sherratt!

Both sorry to see the end of the season!

A League Individual Winner - Alan Hodgson!

A League Winners - Weaver!

B League Individual Winner - Rick Davis!

B League Winners - Nags Head!

C League Individual Winner - Keith Pointon!

C League Winners - Waters Green Rams!

Finals Night Pictures

Last Round Up...

And so it ends…

18 weeks of titanic struggle has concluded and congratulations are due to the triumphant teams you can identify from the scores below, along with commiserations to those less successful - next season it all starts again..!

In the A League, the Weaver deserve all the congratulations for winning the title for the very first time. More amazingly, this is the first ever A League title for League stalwart and "ever present" since 1981 - Graham Bailey. A well-deserved and long-overdue success for Graham and the team.

The Harrington Academicals and the British Flag will play in the B League next year. Both teams will be missed and were excellent opponents (and good company) throughout the season. Good luck for next time around.

Alan Hodgson won the A League Individual standings with a fantastic 57 on the final week of the season - the highest score on the night by a country mile (or the width of Wayne Rooney's wallet, whichever is thicker...).

Alan wins this title for a record 11th time. No one else is even close in this race. Alan - a fantastic effort, well done.

Mark Watson and Haydn Thompson filled second and third places. on behalf of the various Ox-ffords.

The B League saw the tightest finish to the season with the Nags Head just edging out the Castle by one point. The Nags Head and the Castle both fell through the relegation trap-door last year but have made an immediate return to the A League. Well done to all concerned.

The Albion and Cock Inn will start next season one rung lower, but their time will surely come again.

Rick Davis won the B League Individuall title for the third time (to go with his two C League titles), beating Church House Bollington colleague Ed Baron into second place with Alasdair Reid from the Nags in third.

In the C League, the Waters Green Rams won the title and promotion for the very first time in their current form - congratulations to all for a fantastic season. They will be a force next year in the B League, as will the Plough Taverners who had an excellent campaign in finishing a very deserved second.

Keith Pointon won the C League Individual title by a goodly margin, a first win for Keith in the League to cap a great season for he and his Waters Green colleagues.

Phil Davies (Plough Taverners) and Rosalie James (Knot Know-Alls) complete the top three.

In terms of questions, the Lamb Inn won the Cars and Vans 4U Ltd Question Setters Trophy with their Specialist questions from Week 10. Congratulations to all those responsible.

Final Cars and Vans 4U Limited Question Setters Trophy

Final League Standings...A, B and C...

Final Week 18 Results